top of page

The Prep for Success

"The University of Miami's Miami Model Summer Program: MCAT Prep is targeted specifically towards minority students. It gives us the opportunity to pursue medical school in spite of the costs associated with it. This program is giving people, like myself, a chance to prep in a way that we may not have had the resources for otherwise.

The program is VERY competitive; UM only accepts 25 students each summer. My summer has pretty much been taken from me, but I don't feel that I've missed out since I'm working towards my future.

I've definitely learned a lot more about myself because of it. Everyone's journey to medicine is completely different. I learned how much I am willing to sacrifice to get where I want to be.

I've also realized that medicine really isn't about the money at all. It's more about compassion and a search for knowledge. Becoming a physician makes you a lifelong learner and student, and being in this program lets me know that I'm okay with that."

Coming up on her fourth year here at the University of Florida, Israel has plans on becoming an anesthesiologist in the future. She plans on taking her MCAT in August 2015.

Be sure to wish her luck!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Campus Updates
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page