top of page

The Hurdles to the Finish Line!

"If someone would've told me 4 years ago that coming to the University of Florida would have change my life forever, I probably would have never believed them. The truth is UF was never a part of the plan. I only applied to UF as a backup plan but somehow I still ended up here and I am so grateful for that.

Some say it's the people they have met or the organizations they have joined that has made their time here at UF memorable. But as for me, it's not only about the triumphs but also about the tribulations I have endured since stepping foot on this campus. After losing 3 family members, being on academic probation, and being homeless for a semester, UF has taught me a lot about true perseverance.

There was a time when my grades kept dropping and things back home seemed to just keep getting worst. I knew deep down in my heart that I wanted nothing more than a collegedegree and being the first in my family to do, often times put a lot of pressure on me. I really started to question if getting a degree was really apart of God's plan for me. In the midst of all I had to endure, I never lost faith. Thinking back on my journey, I can honestly say that I had all odds against me but God eliminated every single one.

The average student at the University of Florida only concern would to succeed academically but I, on the other hand, had much more on my to do list. I had to work to support myself through college. When you see me, you may see a girl who looks like she has it all together but just know that this girl had to overcome a lot of adversity to get to where she is today."

With high aspirations comes hard work and D'Anna is not stranger to it. On August 8th at 10 a.m. D'Anna A. Tillis, took her final stride across the University of Florida's O'Connell Center stage as she received her Bachelor of Arts is Sociology. We would like to say Congratulations to her and all the rest of 2015 Summer Graduates from the University of Florida.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Campus Updates
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page