top of page

"Upscaling the Brand"

“I really like clothes and fashion but I do not like the idea of working for other people. I would rather be my own boss so that was my motivation behind ‘Upscale General.’" says senior accounting student, David Jean.

Upscale General is a online clothing store that features chic lifestyle and street wear products. The designer, David Jean, 21, explains the feelings he tries to evoke when designing his clothing. "I want my customers to be able feel classy and chic yet feel comfortable at the same time.”

This Miami native started Upscale General back in August of 2014. The young designer's clothing quickly got its hands into some of prominate names in black culture.

"When I saw celebrities, such as JoJo Simmons, Mendeecees from Love and Hip-Hop, and The Wire actor Julito McCullum wearing my clothes, that is when I started to take my clothing line seriously.

Jean has worked hard this past summer to try and build a name for himself in the fashion industry and in the world of entrepreneurship. With his clothing being feautred in the National Black Chamber of Commerce Fashion Show in Hollywood, Florida this past summer. "Through connections and reaching out I actually got a chance to meet the Co-Found of FUBU, J. Alexander Martin. After speaking with him, I got to feature nine of my pieces in the NBCC Fashion Show."

Since the show, Upscale General has been working hard to rebuild its brand for the Fall fashion season. Upscale General had just released some new products and plans to launch more items during the month of October.

The future is very bright for the UG says Jean. "I want my clothing line to be next Sean John or Black Ralph Lauren and I can see it going there within the next 10 years."

David J. is a fourth year accounting major hailing from Miami, Florida. After he graduates in December 2015, he has plans of attending graduate school but, in the meantime, you can check out his clothing line Upscale General and the Fall 2015 Look Book now on UpscaleGeneral.com. Financial Aid JUST dropped to make sure you Shop Now!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Campus Updates
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page