top of page

This weeks Throwback Thursday!

"My biggest struggle was being the only Black woman in my graduate program. As a Black educator, I find that most times, my reason for being in the field is widely different from my white counterparts. Being in this program has allowed me to shed light on my experiences and opinions of education in light of my cultural background, one that many of them would not have experienced if I were not in the program.

Most importantly, I think it was powerful that the Black students I worked with were able to see someone who looked like them inspiring them to do great things, as I am. 'If she can do it, we can do it too!' "

-Michelle Anne Hylton

Since graduating in the spring, Michelle has plans to be a 4th grade teacher in Jacksonville, Florida for the 2015-2016 school year.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Campus Updates
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page